The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA)

is the world's largest technical society dedicated to the global aerospace profession.

  • AIAA Governance
  • ARC
  • AIAA Foundation
  • Industry Guide

F. E. Newbold V/STOL Award

The F. E. Newbold V/STOL Award is presented to recognize outstanding creative contributions to the advancement and realization of powered lift flight in one or more of the following areas: initiation, definition and/or management of key V/STOL programs; development of enabling technologies including critical methodology; program engineering and design; and/or other relevant related activities or combinations thereof which have advanced the science of powered lift flight. This award is generally presented every 30 months in conjunction with the International Powered Lift Conference. The next presentation is anticipated to be in 2019. Nomination Deadline: 1 February 2019
  • Full Name: William J Lewis
  • Category: Technical Excellence
  • AIAA Citation: “For over 30 years of leadership and advocacy of supersonic V/STOL aircraft within Rolls-Royce and throughout the US/UK aerospace industry.”