The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA)

is the world's largest technical society dedicated to the global aerospace profession.

  • ARC
  • AIAA Foundation
  • Industry Guide

Orville and Wilbur Wright Graduate Awards

The AIAA Foundation Orville and Wilbur Wright Graduate Awards have been established by the AIAA Evolution of Flight Campaign and the AIAA Foundation in commemoration of the 100th anniversary of powered flight. The Awards recognize the Wright brother’s aeronautical achievements and contributions to the evolution of flight. The AIAA Foundation Orville and Wilbur Wright Graduate Awards provide 10,000 awards bestowed annually to four graduate-level students participating in research endeavors as part of their engineering/science graduate studies. These endeavors include master’s or doctoral thesis research and master’s (non-thesis option) research projects. These awards are nonrenewable; that is, a selected candidate may receive the award only once.
  • Full Name: Mr Stephen T Clark
  • Category: Graduate
  • Notes: Stephen T. Clark in a fourth-year PhD candidate at Duke University working under Dr. Robert Kielb on Turbomachinery Aeroelasticity. In 2010, Stephen received his M.S. degree from Duke for his research on the aeroelastic challenges facing futuristic, open-rotor engines. In 2008, Stephen graduated from Duke University with a B.S. in Mechanical Engineering and a B.A. in Music. Stephen is interested in Computational Fluid Dynamics (CFD), CFD Techniques, Aeroelasticity, Vibration, and Reduced-Order Modeling of Highly Dimensional Systems.