The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA)

is the world's largest technical society dedicated to the global aerospace profession.

  • ARC
  • AIAA Foundation
  • Industry Guide

Orville and Wilbur Wright Graduate Awards

The AIAA Foundation Orville and Wilbur Wright Graduate Awards have been established by the AIAA Evolution of Flight Campaign and the AIAA Foundation in commemoration of the 100th anniversary of powered flight. The Awards recognize the Wright brother’s aeronautical achievements and contributions to the evolution of flight. The AIAA Foundation Orville and Wilbur Wright Graduate Awards provide 10,000 awards bestowed annually to four graduate-level students participating in research endeavors as part of their engineering/science graduate studies. These endeavors include master’s or doctoral thesis research and master’s (non-thesis option) research projects. These awards are nonrenewable; that is, a selected candidate may receive the award only once.
  • Full Name: Jill Seubert
  • Category: Graduate
  • Notes: Jill Tombasco is a Ph.D. candidate at the University of Colorado, where she studies orbit determination and spacecraft dynamics under the guidance of Dr. Penina Axelrad. Jill received her B.S. from the Pennsylvania State University in 2005, and her M.S. from the University of Colorado in 2009. Her research interests include spacecraft navigation, dynamics and control, formation flight, and interplanetary mission design. Jill will receive her Ph.D. in Aerospace Engineering Sciences in December 2011.