The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA)

is the world's largest technical society dedicated to the global aerospace profession.

  • AIAA Governance
  • ARC
  • AIAA Foundation
  • Industry Guide

Lawrence Sperry Award

The Lawrence Sperry Award is presented for a notable contribution made by a young person, age 35 or under, to the advancement of aeronautics or astronautics. This award honors Lawrence B. Sperry, pioneer aviator and inventor, who died in 1923 in a forced landing while attempting a flight across the English Channel. Note: The recipient must be under 35 years of age on December 31 of the year preceding presentation. Because of unique nature of this award, it is presented during the annual Aerospace Spotlight Awards Gala. Nomination Deadline: 1 October
  • Full Name: Glenn Lunney
  • Category: Technical Excellence
  • AIAA Citation: For outstanding performance as a flight director during the Gemini and Apollo manned space flight missions and exceptional leadership, professional skill, and personal dedication which contributed to the success of this nation’s first manned lunar mission and particularly during the flight of Apollo 13 when you and your team directed the return of the damaged spacecraft following an explosion in space.