The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA)

is the world's largest technical society dedicated to the global aerospace profession.

  • ARC
  • AIAA Foundation
  • Industry Guide

Elmer A. Sperry Award

The Elmer Sperry Award recognizes distinguished engineering contributions that, through application proved in actual service, have advanced the art of transportation whether by land, sea or air. This award was established in 1955 by Dr. Sperry's son and daughter and is administered by the Elmer Sperry Board of Award (co-sponsoted by AIAA, IEEE, ASME, SNAME, SAE, and ASCE). It honors Elmer A. Sperry who was renowned for his navigational tyroscope and who coined the word, "Automotive."
  • Full Name: Edward R Dye
  • AIAA Citation: For their contribution to automotive occupant safety