The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
  • AIAA Governance
  • ARC
  • AIAA Foundation
  • Industry Guide

Aircraft Design Award

The Aircraft Design Award was established in 1968 and is presented to an individual or team for an original concept or career contributions leading to a significant advancement in aircraft design or design technology. This annual award is generally presented at the AIAA Aviation and Aeronautics Forum (AVIATION). Nomination Deadline: 1 October
  • Full Name: Mr. Lawrence A Smith
  • Category: Technical Excellence
  • AIAA Citation: For the design, development and engineering management of the AV-8B Harrier II V/STOL Aircraft, and in recognition of a long and distinguished career with contributions tot he design of the and distinguished career with contributions to the design of the F-4 Phantom, F101 Voodoo, F-3H Demon and F-2H Banshee aircraft