The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA)

is the world's largest technical society dedicated to the global aerospace profession.

  • AIAA Governance
  • ARC
  • AIAA Foundation
  • Industry Guide

AIAA-ASC James H. Starnes Jr. Award

In honor of James Starnes, a leader in fields of structures and materials, the James H. Starnes Award is presented to recognize continued significant contribution to and demonstrated promotion of the field of structural mechanics over an extended period of time emphasizing practical solutions, to acknowledge high professionalism, and to acknowledge the strong mentoring of and influence on colleagues, especially younger colleagues. The award is sponsored by the American Society of Composites (ASC) and AIAA and presented every four years generally at the AIAA Science and Technology Forum (SCITECH). Administration of the award resides with AIAA. The next presentation will be in 2021. Nomination Instructions and Form <a href=></a>
  • Full Name: Dr Raphael T Haftka
  • Category: Technical Excellence
  • AIAA Citation: For pioneering work on optimization techniques for composite structures, his mentoring of countless undergraduate and graduate students, and his exemplary service to the profession.