The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA)

is the world's largest technical society dedicated to the global aerospace profession.

  • ARC
  • AIAA Foundation
  • Industry Guide

AIAA Foundation Award for Excellence

The AIAA Foundation Award for Excellence was established in 1998 and recognizes excellence within the aerospace community exemplifyng the inspirational qualities that inspire the global community. Individuals, teams, programs, or organizations -- whose current noteworthy accomplishment, unique accomplishments for the duration of a program, or extraordinary lifetime contributions represent "excellence within the aerospace community" and generate "inspiration for the global community" -- are eligible nominees. To nominate, submit a describing the accomplishment and why the nominee deserves the award. Email the narrative in pdf format, nominator name/contact information, and nominee name/contact information to The recipient must be able to attend the Aerospace Spotlight Awards Gala to accept the award. The next award will be presented in 2015. Nomination Deadline: 15 December 2014.
  • Full Name: X51A WaveRider Team
  • Category: Premier Award
  • AIAA Citation: “For the demonstration of the feasibility of sustained air breathing hypersonic flight by achieving a 300 second flight at Mach 5.”
  • Notes: Award to be accepted by Charles F. Brink, U.S. Air Force Research Laboratories, Curtis Burger, Aerojet Rocketdyne, Joseph Vogel, The Boeing Company