The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA)

is the world's largest technical society dedicated to the global aerospace profession.

  • ARC
  • AIAA Foundation
  • Industry Guide

John Leland Atwood Graduate Award Recipients

The John Leland Atwood Graduate Award is sponsored by endowments from Rockwell and Boeing North American, Inc. The Atwood Graduate Award memorializes John Leland "Lee" Atwood (1904-1999), former chief executive officer of Rockwell North American. Atwood, thought of by many as the "dean of aerospace,” was instrumental in the development of such landmark projects as the P-51, the F-100, the X-15, the B-1 bomber, and the Space Shuttle. Eligible applicants for the Atwood Graduate Award must be actively participating in research endeavors in one of the more than 65 specialty areas represented by AIAA Technical Committees. Official recognition and presentation of the check to the recipient will be made in conjunction with the Awards Presentations Ceremony at the AIAA Aerospace Sciences Meeting. In addition, the AIAA Foundation will present the recipient with a special recognition plaque in honor of this award. Application Deadline: 31 January