AIAA

The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • MY AIAA
  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA)

is the world's largest technical society dedicated to the global aerospace profession.

    • ARC
    • AIAA Foundation
    • Industry Guide
    Paper Submission

    Technical Tracks

      

    SpaceOps logo

    CFP and Abstract Deadline: 5 August 2013  (Closed)

     
    The scope of the SpaceOps 2014 conference covers a range of major topics in space operations, engineering and related disciplines, with additional new concepts for the upcoming era of exploration.
      

     For questions on the Technical Program contact:

     SpaceOps 2014 Technical Program Chair
     William Weber, wjweber@jpl.nasa.gov
     818.354.0490

    Abstract Requirements: (CFP CLOSED)


    The SpaceOps 2014 conference organizing committee’s highest priority is to accept abstracts and papers that emphasize unique and innovative practices, technologies, and experiences from which others in the Space Operations community will benefit. The submitted abstract should be approximately 500-700 words in length. The Technical Program Committee (TPC) will evaluate the submitted abstracts based upon (but not limited to) these four evaluation criteria:
    • Relevance to space operations
    • Innovation
    • Substantive merit (content and realism)
    • Applicability and benefit to future missions

    TOPIC DESCRIPTIONS
     

    Mission Design and Management

    Chair:
    Arthur Amador (JPL), arthur.v.amador@jpl.nasa.gov
    Co-Chair: Thierry Levoir (CNES), thierry.Levoir@cnes.fr

    Mission Design
    • Mission Architectures
    • Challenges in Trajectory Design and Analysis
    • Mission Engineering and Planning
    • Mission Simulation and Modeling
    • System Engineering

    Mission Management
    • Cost-Effective Operations
    • International Coorperation for Mission Management
    • Managing Mission Risks and Opportunities
    • Public Engagement

     

    Operations Concepts, Methods, Systems, and Automation

    Chair:
    Michael Schmidt (ESA), michael.Schmidt@esa.int 
    Co-Chairs: Takanori Iwata (JAXA), iwata.takanori@jaxa.jp
    Sean Burns (Eumetsat), sean.Burns@Eumetsat.Int

    Operational Concepts and Methods
    Mission Operations Concepts
    Flight Operations
    Advanced Technologies for Space Operations
    Operations Automation and Optimization
    Ground Segment Design
    Simulations and Training
    Operational Validation
    Operations Concepts for Constellation & In Situ Operations
    Payload Operations Concepts
    End of Life Operations

    Flight System Monitor and Control

    Chair:
    Helene Pasquier (CNES), helene.Pasquier@cnes.fr
    Co-Chair: Nestor Peccia (ESA), nestor.Peccia@esa.int

    Fault Management and Recovery
    Flight Control Systems and EGSE
    Flight System Monitor and Control Architectures and Design
    Flight System Monitor and Control Development and Validation
    Payload Monitor and Control
    On-board/ground Interfaces

    Planning and Scheduling

    Chair:
    Martin Wickler (DLR), martin.wickler@dlr.de 
    Co-Chairs: Shinichi Nakamura (JAXA), nakamura.shinichi@jaxa.jp
     Vladimir Nazarov (IKI),  vladimir.Nazarov@Cosmos.Ru  

    Mission Planning and Scheduling
    Mission Planning Systems
    Planning and Scheduling Systems
    Asset Scheduling

    Guidance, Navigation, and Control

    Chair:
    Al Cangahuala (JPL), laureano.a.cangahuala@jpl.nasa.gov
    Co-Chairs: Okchul Jung (KARI), ocjung@kari.re.kr
    Giovanni Valentini (ASI), giovanni.valentini@asi.it

    Flight Dynamics and Navigation
    Attitude Determination and Control
    Interplanetary Missions
    Formation/Constellation Management
    Global Navigation Systems and Applications
    GNC and Astrodynamics Software
    Space Debris and Collision Avoidance

    Communications, Data Management and Processing

    Chair:
     Rolf Kozlowski (DLR), rolf.Kozlowski@dlr.de
    Co-Chairs:  Patrick Hogan (CSA), patrick.Hogan@asc-csa.gc.ca
    Mariella Spada (ESA), mariella.spada@esa.int

    Network Operations and Management
    Ground Network Implementation
    Ground Communications
    Ground Network and Antenna Concepts
    Data Management
    Ground Data Systems
    Communications Architectures for Complex Constellations
    Space Cyber Security
    Software Development and Maintenance

    Human Systems and Operations

    Chair:
    Vern Hall (JSC), vern.f.hall@nasa.gov
    Co-Chair: Joachim Kehr (DLR), Joachimkehr@aol.com
    Human Spaceflight
    ISS
    Training for Human Operations
    Mission Architecture for Human Spaceflight 

    Cross Support, Interoperability, and Standards

    Chair:
    Mike Kearney (MSFC), mike.kearney@nasa.gov
    Co-Chair: Jean-Marc Soula (CNES), jean-Marc.Soula@cnes.fr

    Communications Standards - Link Layer
    Communications Standards - Network
    Communications Standards - Application Layer
    Software Standards - Architecture
    Software Standards - Mission Ops
    International Cross Support
    Advanced Standards for Future Missions
    Secure Interoperability
    Interoperability for International Missions
    Other Standards


    Launcher, Rocket, and Balloon Operations

    Chair: Craig Cruzen (MSFC), craig.Cruzen@nasa.gov
    Co-Chair: Julio Monreal (ESA), julio.Monreal@esa.int 

    Launchers and Facilities
    Balloons and Sounding Rockets
    Launch Vehicle Propulsion Systems and Test Facilities
    Pre-Launch Integration and Test
    Launch Vehicle Availability, Reliability, and Risk Management
    Launcher Integrated Health Monitoring

    Small Satellite Operations

    Chair: James Cutler (U of Michigan), jwcutler@umich.edu
    Co-Chairs: Pierre Lods (CNES), pierre.Lods@cnes.fr 

    Zeina Mounzer (Telespazio VEGA), zeina.mounzer@telespazio-vega.de
     

    Cubesat and Nanosat Operations
    TT&C Systems
    Flight Operations
    Constellation Operations
    Frequency Allocation Challenges
    Regulations and their Challenges
    Challenges with Small Satellite Operations
    End of Life Operations
    Cubesat Networks/Swarms; Constellation Operations
    Nano-Technologies
    Lessons Learned
    Chair:  Zeina Mounzer (Telespazio VEGA), zeina.mounzer@telespazio-vega.de

    Co-chair: Dave LaVallee (APL), david.LaVallee@jhuapl.edu 

     

     

    Air and Space Traffic Management
    Commercial Manned Spaceflight
    Commercial Orbital Transportation Services
    Commercial Spaceports
    Lean and Lights-out Commercial Control Centers
    Managing a Constellation of Satellites
    Operations with Space Tourists Onboard
    Training Spaceflight Participants
    Regulations and Laws

     
     SpaceOps logo