The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA)

is the world's largest technical society dedicated to the global aerospace profession.

    • AIAA Governance
    • ARC
    • AIAA Foundation
    • Industry Guide
    Honors and Awards

    Honors and Awards

    Aerospace Spotlight Awards

    The honors to be conferred at the 2013 AIAA Aerospace Spotlight Awards Gala include:


    • AIAA Goddard Astronautics Award: William F. Ballhaus Jr., The Aerospace Corporation
    • AIAA Reed Aeronautics Award: Hon. Paul Kaminski, Technovation Inc.
    • AIAA International Cooperation Award: Scott Pace, Space Policy Institute, Elliott School of International Affairs, George Washington University
    • AIAA Distinguished Service Award: A. Tom Smith, ATS Solutions Inc.
    • AIAA Foundation Award for Excellence: Mars Science Laboratory, “Curiosity” Rover Team, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory
    • AIAA Public Service Award: Neil deGrasse Tyson, Hayden Planetarium, Rose Center for Earth and Space, American Museum of Natural History
    • AIAA Foundation Educator Achievement Awards: Lanena Berry, Houston Independent School District, Houston, Texas; Elizabeth Dabrowski, Magnificat High School, Cleveland, Ohio; Lisa Damian-Marvin, Camden Hills Regional High School, Rockport, Maine; Joan Labay-Marquez, Curington Elementary School, Boerne, Texas; Sean McCullough, Anderson Districts I & II Career and Technology Center, Anderson, S.C.; Deborah Swan, Windsor Hills Math, Science, Aerospace Magnet School, Los Angeles, Calif.; and James Weber, Timberland High School, Wentzville, Mo.

    2013 Fellows and Honorary Fellows

    The highest distinction conferred by AIAA and its Board of Directors is that of Honorary Fellow, which is granted only to preeminent individuals who have had long and highly contributory careers in aerospace and who embody the highest standards possible in aeronautics and astronautics. The 2013 Honorary Fellows are:


    • Allen E. Fuhs, Naval Postgraduate School
    • William H. Gerstenmaier, NASA Headquarters
    • David Ian Poll, Cranfield University
    • David W. Thompson, Orbital Sciences Corporation

    The distinction of Fellow is conferred by AIAA and its Board of Directors upon those members of the Institute who have made notable and valuable contributions to the arts, sciences, or technology of aeronautics or astronautics. The 2013 Fellows are:


    • Edward H. Allen, Lockheed Martin Aeronautics
    • Frank H. Bauer, Emergent Space Technologies
    • Christina L. Bloebaum, Iowa State University
    • Hsiao-Hua K. Burke, Lincoln Laboratory
    • Wesley G. Bush, Northrop Grumman Corporation
    • Joaquin H. Castro, Pratt & Whitney Rocketdyne
    • Ray G. Clinton Jr., NASA Marshall Space Flight Center
    • Victoria L. Coverstone, University of Illinois
    • Frank L. Culbertson, Orbital Sciences Corporation
    • Basil Hassan, Sandia National Laboratories
    • Stephen D. Heister, Purdue University
    • Kathleen C. Howell, Purdue University
    • Laurence D. Leavitt, NASA Langley Research Center
    • Feng Liu, University of California at Irvine
    • Asad M. Madni, BEI Technologies Inc.
    • Dennis A. Muilenburg, Boeing Defense, Space & Security
    • Jaime Peraire, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    • Michael W. Plesniak, George Washington University
    • Andre J. Preumont, Universite Libre de Bruxelles
    • James D. Raisbeck, Raisbeck Engineering, Inc.
    • Rami R. Razouk, The Aerospace Corporation
    • Gwynne E. Shotwell, SpaceX
    • Friedrich K. Straub, Boeing Defense, Space & Security
    • Frank L. Van Rensselaer, VanRSpace
    • Aspi R. Wadia, GE Aviation
    • Steven H. Walker, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency
    • Kevin A. Wise, Boeing Defense, Space & Security