AIAA

The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • MY AIAA
  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA)

is the world's largest technical society dedicated to the global aerospace profession.

    • AIAA Governance
    • ARC
    • AIAA Foundation
    • Industry Guide
    2016 Press Releases

    AIAA Press Releases

    Our complete archive of 2016 news releases

    Friday, 22 July
    Vigor Yang to Deliver AIAA Von Kármán Lecture in Astronautics
    Lecture Entitled "Rethinking Space Propulsion: Enabling the Future of
    Space Transportation and Exploration


    Monday, 18 July
    Orbital ATK Cygnus Program to Receive AIAA Space Systems Award


    Monday, 11 July
    AIAA to Present Awards at its Propulsion and Energy Forum

    Tuesday, 5 July
    AIAA Propulsion and Energy Forum and Exposition 2016 To Be Held in Salt Lake City
    Low-Carbon Emission Aviation, Propulsion Systems, Launch Vehicle Reusability, Nuclear-Powered Propulsion for Space Exploration, and Electric Aircraft Propulsion Among Subjects For Discussion

    Monday, 27 June
    Karl D. Bilimoria Appointed Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Air Transportation
    Is the Journal's First Editor-in-Chief Under its New Name

    Thursday, 16 June
    AIAA and Drone World Expo Partner to Create New, Innovative Unmanned Aerial Systems Research Competition
    Contest to Reward Outstanding Research Presentations in the Field of Unmanned Aerial Systems

    Tuesday, 24 May
    AIAA Announces 2016 Board of Directors Election Results

    Wednesday, 18 May
    DEMAND for UNMANNED Symposium to Highlight Present and Future Unmanned Aerial Systems and Autonomous Technology
    Unmanned Aerial Systems, Autonomous Systems and Technology, and the Intelligent Autonomous Systems Roadmap Among Discussion Points

    Friday, 13 May
    AIAA to Celebrate Achievements in Aerospace Sciences at its June Aviation and Aeronautics Forum and Exposition

    Friday, 13 May
    AIAA to Recognize Achievements in Aircraft and Atmospheric Systems at its June Aviation and Aeronautics Forum and Exposition

    Tuesday, 10 May
    San Jose State University Wins 20th Annual Student Design/Build/Fly Competition
    Event Drew Interest from 137 Teams from 16 Countries and 24 States

    Monday, 9 May
    AIAA Aviation and Aeronautics Forum and Exposition 2016 to Explore Concepts to Reality: Driving the Next Century of Flight Innovation
    Technology Timeline, HondaJet, Cybersecurity, UAS Developments and NASA Aeronautics Among Subjects to be Explored

    Tuesday, 29 March
    Wanda M. Austin to Receive the 2016 AIAA Goddard Astronautics Award
    Honored for Extraordinary Leadership, Vision, Inspiration, and Contributions to the Nation’s Space Programs

    Monday, 28 March
    Earl Dowell to Receive the 2016 AIAA Reed Aeronautics Award
    Honored for Pioneering Contributions to Aerolasticity, Structural Dynamics and Unsteady Aerodynamics

    Friday, 25 March
    Antony Jameson Wins 2015 Guggenheim Medal
    Honors His Contributions to Modern Aircraft Design

    Thursday, 24 March
    Tom D. Crouch to Receive 2016 AIAA Distinguished Service Award
    Honored for Inspirational Leadership and Ceaseless Efforts in Promoting the Public Understanding of the History of AIAA and Aerospace

    Monday, 21 March
    General John R. "Jack" Dailey Wins 2016 AIAA Foundation Award for Excellence
    Honored for Deep Commitment to Sharing Aviation and Spaceflight History and Technology with Present and Future Generations

    Tuesday, 8 March
    Three AIAA Members Named Presidential Early Career Award Winners

    Wednesday, 2 March
    Fifteen AIAA Student Members Named to 20 Twenties List
    Awards Recognize Outstanding Engineering, Math, Science and Technology Studnts

    Tuesday, 1 March
    Wanda M. Austin Wins 2016 Yvonne C. Brill Lectureship in Aerospace Engineering
    Will Deliver September Address on “Engineering Leadership: The Need for Technical Excellence and Diversity”

    Thursday, 18 February
    Seven AIAA Members Elected to National Academy of Engineering

    Thursday, 28 January
    AIAA Congratulates Charles Elachi on Being Selected as the Winner of the 2016 National Space Trophy
    AIAA Fellow is Director of NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory

    Wednesday, 27 January
    AIAA Spotlight Awards Gala to Confer Top Honors
    Black-Tie Event Honors Aerospace's Best and Brightest

    Wednesday, 21 January
    AIAA Announces Its 2016 Class of Fellows and Honorary Fellows
    Three Honorary Fellows and 24 Fellows Selected

    Thursday, 14 January
    Joseph Powers Succeeds Douglas Talley as Editor-in-Chief of Journal of Propulsion and Power