The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA)

is the world's largest technical society dedicated to the global aerospace profession.

    • AIAA Governance
    • ARC
    • AIAA Foundation
    • Industry Guide




    September 3, 2014 – Reston, Va. – The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is pleased to announce that its Nominating Committee has selected candidates for next year’s openings on the AIAA Board of Directors. The Committee’s chairman, Michael Griffin, confirmed the names of the officer and director candidates who will appear on the ballot. They are as follows:


    President, Elect

    • Jim Maser, James G. Advisors, LLC


    VP – Elect, Education

    • K. Ravindra, Saint Louis University
    • Richard Wlezien, Iowa State University


    VP – Elect, Public Policy

    • James Horkovich, Raytheon Missiles Systems
    • John Rose, The Boeing Company


    Director – at-Large

    • Brett Anderson, Boeing Defense, Space & Security
    • Benjamin Marchionna, Lockheed Martin Corporation
    • Charles Radley, Leeward Space Foundation
    • Karl Rein-Weston, Boeing Engineering, Operations and Technology


    Director – at-Large, International

    •  Juergen Drescher, DLR – German Aerospace Center
    • Christian Mari, SAFRAN Group


    Director – Technical, Aerospace Design and Structures Group

    • Russ Althof, Raytheon Missile Systems
    • Achille Messac, Mississippi State University


    Director – Technical, Aerospace Sciences Group

    • James Keenan, U.S. Army, Aviation and Missile Research, Development, and Engineering Center


    Director – Region 2

    • John Blanton, GE Power & Water
    • Mark Whorton, Teledyne Brown Engineering


    Director – Region 3

    • Daniel Jensen, Rolls-Royce Corporation
    • Timothy Roussos, Avaya


    Director – Region 6

    • L. Jane Hansen, HRP Systems, Inc.


    The ballot will be sent to all eligible voting members of the Institute in February 2015.

    The AIAA Constitution also allows board nominations to be made via petition. Members intending to follow this process are asked to contact the AIAA Secretary, Bill Seymore, at 703.264.7540 or, as soon as possible before the 1 January 2015 deadline for more specific instructions and coordination. The petition must be supported by at least 300 voting members of the Institute. All eligible voting members of AIAA will be able to cast their ballot beginning in February 2015.


    AIAA is the largest aerospace professional society in the world, serving a diverse range of more than 35,000 individual members from 80 countries, and 100 corporate members. AIAA members help make the world safer, more connected, more accessible, and more prosperous. For more information, visit, or follow us on Twitter @AIAA.



    American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
    1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Suite 500, Reston, VA 20191-4344
    Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551