The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

    Yvonne C. Brill Lectureship in Aerospace Engineering

    AIAALogo   NAELogo


    2 March 2016

    Announcing...the 2016 Lecture

    (View press release)


    Dr Wanda M. Austin
    President & CEO, The Aerospace Corporation
    “Engineering Leadership: The Need for Technical Excellence and Diversity”

    Thursday, 15 September 2016
    6:00–7:00 pm

    AIAA Space and Astronautics Forum and Exposition (SPACE 2016)

    Long Beach Convention Center
    Long Beach, California

    The Yvonne C. Brill Lectureship in Aerospace Engineering was established in the memory of Yvonne C. Brill, pioneering rocket scientist, AIAA Honorary Fellow and NAE member. 

    Yvonne C. Brill often referred to herself as an "only" - the only woman in the room at a time when female scientists and engineers were exceedingly few. She is best known for developing a revolutionary propulsion system, the hydrazine/resistojet propulsion system that remains the industry standard for geostationary satellite station-keeping.

    In the last quarter-century of her life, she dedicated a large part of her time to helping others pursue careers in engineering, science, and mathematics, and to ensuring professional women are given the recognition they deserve.

    Members of AIAA or NAE may place a nomination.  The ideal candidate should have a distinguished career involving significant contributions in aerospace research and/or engineering and will be selected based on technical experience, originality, and influence on other important aerospace issues such as ensuring a diverse and robust engineering community.



    For additional information, please contact AIAA Honors and Awards at or 703/264-7523.