The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics



    Official Presentation to Take Place in May at AIAA Aerospace Spotlight Awards Gala

    January 20, 2012 – Reston, Va. – The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is pleased to announce the 2012 AIAA Fellows and Honorary Fellows. Presentation of the new Fellows and Honorary Fellows will take place at the AIAA Aerospace Spotlight Awards Gala, Wednesday, May 9, 2012, at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center, in Washington, D.C.

    The title of Honorary Fellow, the highest distinction conferred by AIAA, is granted to preeminent individuals who have had long and highly contributory careers in aerospace, and who embody the highest possible standards in aeronautics and astronautics. The 2012 AIAA Honorary Fellows are:

    Arnold D. Aldrich,
      Aldrich & Associates
    Paul D. Nielsen,
      Software Engineering Institute
    Robert J. Stevens,
        Lockheed Martin Corporation

    The distinction of Fellow is conferred upon those members of the Institute who have made notable and valuable contributions to the arts, sciences, or technology of aeronautics and astronautics. The 2012 AIAA Fellows are:


    Nadine Aubry, Carnegie Mellon University
    Carlos E. Cesnik, University of Michigan
    John W. Daily, University of Colorado, Boulder
    David B. Doman, Air Force Research Laboratory
    J. Phillip Drummond, NASA Langley Research Center
    Jeffrey M. Forbes, University of Colorado, Boulder
    Subramanyam R. Gollahalli, The University of Oklahoma
    Ralph Heath, Lockheed Martin Corporation
    David K. Holger, Iowa State University
    James A. Horkovich, Raytheon Missile Systems
    James E. Hubbard Jr., National Institute of Aerospace
    Mordechay Karpel, Technion – Israel Institute of Technology
    Hitoshi Kuninaka, Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency

    John S. Langford, Aurora Flight Sciences
    Azad M. Madni, Intelligent Systems Technology, Inc.
    Moshe Matalon, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
    Arun K. Misra, McGill University
    Roger Ohayon, Conservatoire National des Arts et Métiers
    Ellen M. Pawlikowski, U.S. Air Force Space and Missile Systems Center
    J. V. R. Prasad, Georgia Institute of Technology
    Mark E. Russell, Raytheon Company
    Robert S. Ryan, Consultant
    John D. Schmisseur, Air Force Office of Scientific Research
    Mary L. Snitch, Lockheed Martin Corporation
    John Sullivan, Purdue University
    Miguel R. Visbal, Air Force Research Laboratory
    Norman M. Wereley, University of Maryland
    David A. Whelan, Boeing Defense, Space & Security


    AIAA President Dr. Brian D. Dailey stated: “Being named a Fellow of AIAA is among the highest honors that can be bestowed upon an aerospace professional, and represents recognition from colleagues and peers for great contributions to our field and technical community. I congratulate each member of this year’s class of Fellows and Honorary Fellows.”

    In 1933, Orville Wright became AIAA’s first Honorary Fellow, and AIAA Honorary Fellows and AIAA Fellows continue to be the most respected names in the aerospace industry.

    AIAA is the world’s largest technical society dedicated to the global aerospace profession. With more than 35,000 individual members worldwide, and 90 corporate members, AIAA brings together industry, academia, and government to advance engineering and science in aviation, space, and defense. For more information, visit



    American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
    1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Suite 500, Reston, VA 20191-4344
    Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551