The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

    CONTACT: John Blacksten

    AIAA Announces Results of 2019 Election 

    March 22, 2019 – Reston, Va. –The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics announced today the results of its 2019 election for President-Elect and Council of Directors positions.


    “It is with sincere gratitude that I thank our volunteers for stepping up to help lead AIAA in this pivotal time,” said John Langford, AIAA president. “Thank you to all the candidates and to all who voted. Your dedication and hard work make the aerospace industry the extraordinary place it is. Congratulations to the new President-Elect and Directors!”


    The newly elected AIAA officials will take office in May.


    AIAA President-Elect

    • Basil Hassan, Sandia National Laboratories


    Council of Directors

      Director–Region IV

      • Sarah Shull, NASA Johnson Space Center


      Director–Region V

      • Orval “Rusty” Powell, Millennium Engineering and Integration Company


      Director–Aerospace Outreach Group

    • Tucker Hamilton, United States Air Force

      Director–Integration Group

      • Peter Hartwich, Boeing Engineering, Test & Technology


      Director–Information Systems Group

      • Allan “Terry” Morris, NASA Langley Research Center


      Director–Propulsion and Energy Group

      • Joaquin Castro, Aerojet Rocketdyne


      About AIAA

      The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is the world’s largest aerospace technical society. With nearly 30,000 individual members from 85 countries, and 95 corporate members, AIAA brings together industry, academia, and government to advance engineering and science in aviation, space, and defense. For more information, visit, or follow us on Twitter @AIAA.


      American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
      12700 Sunrise Valley Drive, Suite 200, Reston, VA 20191-5807
      Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551