The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

Aircraft Design Award

The Aircraft Design Award was established in 1968 and is presented to an individual or team for an original concept or career contributions leading to a significant advancement in aircraft design or design technology. This annual award is generally presented at the AIAA Aviation and Aeronautics Forum (AVIATION). Nomination Deadline: 1 October
  • Full Name: Dr Leland M Nicolai
  • Category: Technical Excellence
  • AIAA Citation: For four decades of aircraft design leadership, including developing the AGM-129/ACM, redirecting the AGM-158/JASSM into the 21st Century, authoring design textbooks, and teaching aircraft design.