The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

Aeroacoustics Award

The Aeroacoustics Award was established in 1973 and is presented for an outstanding technical or scientific achievement resulting from an individual's contribution to the field of aircraft community noise reduction. This annual award is generally presented at the AIAA Aviation and Aeronautics Forum and Exposition or at the AIAA/CEAS Aeroacoustics Conference. Nomination Deadline: 1 October
  • Full Name: Prof Geoffrey M Lilley
  • Category: Technical Excellence
  • AIAA Citation: For major contributions to to aeroacoustics research, including sonic boom and jet noise, and particularly for his theory of the generation and radiation of sound by turbulence and the practical suppression of jet noise