The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

Haley Space Flight Award

This award was established in 1954 and presented through 1966 as the Astronautics Award. It was renamed and presented through 1993 as the Haley Astronautics Award, honoring Andrew G. Haley, who has been described as the world’s first practitioner of space law and an expert on rocket propulsion. Today known as the Haley Space Flight Award, the biennial (even numbered years) award is presented for outstanding contributions by an astronaut or flight test personnel to the advancement of the art, science or technology of astronautics. The biennial award is generally presented at the AIAA Space and Astronautics Forum (SPACE). Nomination Deadline: 1 February
  • Full Name: Thomas W Karras
  • Category: Technical Excellence
  • AIAA Citation: For engineering skill, innovation, dedication to duty, outstanding professionalism, and unyielding tenacity in regaining control -- and thus operational use -- of the NOAA-B Environmental Satellite eleven months after it has been presumed lost. This superb example of Government/Industry team work is the highest tradition of the United States'' space program