The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

Ashley Award for Aeroelasticity

The AIAA Ashley Award for Aeroelasticity recognizes outstanding contributions to the understanding and application of aeroelastic phenomena.  It commemorates the accomplishments of Prof. Holt Ashley, who dedicated his professional life to the advancement of aerospace sciences and engineering and had a profound impact on the fields of aeroelasticity, unsteady aerodynamics, aeroservoelasticity, and multidisciplinary optimization. The award is presented every four years generally at the AIAA Science and Technology Forum (SCITECH). The next award presentation will be in 2021. Nomination Deadline: 1 July 2020
  • Full Name: Prof Peretz P Friedmann
  • Category: Technical Excellence
  • AIAA Citation: For lasting contributions in rotary and fixed wing aeroelasticity, active control, optimization with aeroelastic constraints and unsteady aerodynamics that had significant influence on vehicle design.