The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

Thermophysics Award

The Thermophysics Award was established in 1975, and is presented for an outstanding singular or sustained technical or scientific contribution by an individual in thermophysics, specifically as related to the study and application of the properties and mechanisms involved in thermal energy transfer and the study of environmental effects on such properties and mechanisms. This annual award is generally presented at the AIAA Aviation and Astroonautics Forum (AVIATION). Nomination Deadline: 1 October
  • Full Name: Prof Ramesh K Agarwal
  • Category: Technical Excellence
  • AIAA Citation: For fundamental and applied contributions to hypersonic aerodynamics through development of industrial grade Navier-Stokes, Burnett and Boltzmann Codes for Chemically Reacting and Rarefied Flows, and for impact on the design of real-world aerospace vehicles.