The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

Thermophysics Award

The Thermophysics Award was established in 1975, and is presented for an outstanding singular or sustained technical or scientific contribution by an individual in thermophysics, specifically as related to the study and application of the properties and mechanisms involved in thermal energy transfer and the study of environmental effects on such properties and mechanisms. This annual award is generally presented at the AIAA Aviation and Astroonautics Forum (AVIATION). Nomination Deadline: 1 October
  • Full Name: Dr James N Moss
  • Category: Technical Excellence
  • AIAA Citation: For pioneering research in the computation of flowfields about hypervelocity entry vehicles, including analyses of real-gas chemistry, radiation transport, ablation, and rarefaction; and for meritorious service to AIAA