The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

Aerospace Communications Award

The Aerospace Communications Award is presented for an outstanding contribution in the field of aerospace communications. Candidates are individuals or small teams (up to 4 members) whose achievements have had a positive impact on technology and society. This award is presented annually at the AIAA International Communications Satellite Systems Conference (ICSSC). Nomination Deadline: 1 October
  • Full Name: Dr Wilbur L Pritchard
  • Category: Technical Excellence
  • AIAA Citation: For notable contributions to the technical management and leadership of the team that conceived and implemented the military communications satellite program which led to the initial defense communications satellite program and the NATO communications satellites; the conception and development of the unique X-band communications systems used in theses satellites; and the organization and direction of the COMSAT Laboratories