The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

Lawrence Sperry Award

The Lawrence Sperry Award is presented for a notable contribution made by a young person, age 35 or under, to the advancement of aeronautics or astronautics. This award honors Lawrence B. Sperry, pioneer aviator and inventor, who died in 1923 in a forced landing while attempting a flight across the English Channel. Note: The recipient must be age 35 or under on December 31 of the year preceding presentation. Because of unique nature of this award, it is presented during the annual Aerospace Spotlight Awards Gala. Nomination Deadline: 1 October
  • Full Name: Dennis M Bushnell
  • Category: Technical Excellence
  • AIAA Citation: For significant advances in the state-of-the-art for predicting complicated fluid mechanics phenomena such as the two phase flows resulting from fluid infection during reentry flight; the heating of interfering flows involving multiple shock systems and separation; and the flow of compressible turbulent shear layers and boundary layers