The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

Elmer A. Sperry Award

The Elmer Sperry Award recognizes distinguished engineering contributions that, through application proved in actual service, have advanced the art of transportation whether by land, sea or air. This award was established in 1955 by Dr. Sperry's son and daughter and is administered by the Elmer Sperry Board of Award (co-sponsored by AIAA, IEEE, ASME, SNAME, SAE, and ASCE). It honors Elmer A. Sperry who was renowned for his navigational tyroscope and who coined the word, "Automotive." The nomination form and guidelines can be found at <a href=></a>
  • Full Name: Dr Antony Jameson
  • AIAA Citation: In recognition of seminal work and continuing contributions to aviation through the development of innovative and efficient computational aerodynamic design codees and their application to the designs of aircraft.