The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

Haley Space Flight Award

This award was established in 1954 and presented through 1966 as the Astronautics Award. It was renamed and presented through 1993 as the Haley Astronautics Award, honoring Andrew G. Haley, who has been described as the world’s first practitioner of space law and an expert on rocket propulsion. Today known as the Haley Space Flight Award, the biennial (even numbered years) award is presented for outstanding contributions by an astronaut or flight test personnel to the advancement of the art, science or technology of astronautics. The biennial award is generally presented at the AIAA Space and Astronautics Forum (SPACE). Nomination Deadline: 1 February
  • Full Name: Vance D Brand
  • Category: Technical Excellence
  • AIAA Citation: For outstanding performance as the United States flight crew during the Apollo Soyuz space flight, the first international manned space mission. Through their efforts, it was possible to carry out a significant cooperative venture with the Soviet Union in a space flight that successfully demonstrated joint orbital operations and tested a universal docking system, opening the way for mutual assistance in the exploration of the universe