The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

Reed Aeronautics Award

The Reed Aeronautics Award is the highest honor an individual can receive for notable achievement in aeronautics. The award is named after Dr. Sylvanus A. Reed, the aeronautical engineer, designer, and founding member of the Institute of Aeronautical Sciences in 1932. Reed was the first to develop a propeller system composed of metal rather than wood. His aluminum alloy propeller gave Jimmy Doolittle's plane the speed it needed to win the 1925 Schneider Cup race and brought the inventor much credit and many rewards. This annual award is generally presented at the Aerospace Spotlight Awards Gala. Nomination Deadline: 1 October
  • Full Name: Mr. Dain M Hancock
  • AIAA Citation: For his career long contributions to military aircraft science, program management, and multi-national cooperation in defense technology. His leadership has been key to the creation and fielding of the next generation of advanced military aircraft, including the F-22, F-35, and advanced F-16 versions - products that will protect the United States and its allies for much of the 21st century