The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

Reed Aeronautics Award

The Reed Aeronautics Award is the highest honor an individual can receive for notable achievement in aeronautics. The award is named after Dr. Sylvanus A. Reed, the aeronautical engineer, designer, and founding member of the Institute of Aeronautical Sciences in 1932. Reed was the first to develop a propeller system composed of metal rather than wood. His aluminum alloy propeller gave Jimmy Doolittle's plane the speed it needed to win the 1925 Schneider Cup race and brought the inventor much credit and many rewards. This annual award is generally presented at the Aerospace Spotlight Awards Gala. Nomination Deadline: 1 October
  • Full Name: Mr. William C Dietz
  • AIAA Citation: For a career of leadership in the engineering development of advanced military aircraft, including the B-36, B-58, F-111 and most recently the YF-16, successful lightweight fighter competitor whose service introduction will embody the first operational application of fly-by-wire control, the extensive use of advanced composites in primary airframe structure, and numerous other technical contributions to air combat capability