The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

Aircraft Design Award

The Aircraft Design Award was established in 1968 and is presented to an individual or team for an original concept or career contributions leading to a significant advancement in aircraft design or design technology. This annual award is generally presented at the AIAA Aviation and Aeronautics Forum and Exposition. Nomination Deadline: 1 October
  • Full Name: James B Godwin, III
  • Category: Technical Excellence
  • AIAA Citation: For evolutionary upgrade of the Navy’s flagship workhorse, the F/A-18E/F, into the next generation ‘Super Hornet’ capable of outstanding performance well into the 21st century