The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

Space Systems Award

Up to 1976 known as the Spacecraft Design Award, the Space Systems Award is now presented to recognize outstanding achievements in the architecture, analysis, design, and implementation of space systems. This annual award is generally presented at the AIAA Space and Astronautics Forum (SPACE). Nomination Deadline: 1 February
  • Full Name: CHANDRA X-Ray Observation Team
  • Category: Technical Excellence
  • AIAA Citation: NASA/MSFC, the Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics and TRW are recognized for successfully designing, building, launching, deploying and operating Chandra, the world’s most capable X-ray observatory.
  • Notes: Award accepted by POC Martin Weisskopf, NASA Marshall Space Flight Center and Harvey Tananbaum, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics and Charles Lillie, TRW Space and Laser Products Division