The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

John Leland Atwood Graduate Award

Through its annual graduate scholarship program, the AIAA Foundation presents awards to graduate students doing excellent research in the air and space sciences. The John Leland Atwood Graduate Award is sponsored by endowments from Rockwell and Boeing North American, Inc. The Atwood Graduate Award memorializes John Leland "Lee" Atwood (1904-1999), former chief executive officer of Rockwell North American. Atwood, thought of by many as the "dean of aerospace,” was instrumental in the development of such landmark projects as the P-51, the F-100, the X-15, the B-1 bomber, and the Space Shuttle. Official recognition and presentation of the check to the recipient will be made in conjunction with the Awards Presentations Ceremony at the AIAA SciTech Forum. In addition, the AIAA Foundation will present the recipient with a special recognition plaque in honor of this award. Basic Criteria and other information can be found at <a href= >;
  • Full Name: Dr Sydney Do
  • Entry: AIAA John Leland Atwood Graduate Award
  • Category: Graduate
  • AIAA Citation: Sydney Do is currently a Ph.D. candidate in the Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). He received his B.E. degree in Aerospace Engineering in 2008 from the University of Sydney, Australia, and a S.M. in Aeronautics and Astronautics in 2011 from MIT. His past research has been in the areas of fuel-efficient satellite formation flight, land-landings of returning capsule-shaped crewed spacecraft, and the crowdsourcing of engineering ideation and innovation. He is currently the lead researcher in space habitation and life support within the Strategic Engineering Research Group at MIT.