The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award was established by the Board of Directors in 1968 to give unique recognition to an individual member of AIAA who has provided distinguished service to the Institute over a period of years. "Period of years" is interpreted as a minimum of five years of identifiable participation, not necessarily consecutive. The recipient must be a member in good standing who has shown particular dedication to the interests of the Institute by making significant and continuing contributions. Technical contributions or contributions to the profession as a whole or to the aeronautical/astronautical/hydronautical disciplines are not a consideration for this award. This annual award is generally presented at the Aerospace Spotlight Awards Gala. Nomination Deadline: 1 October Nominee Eligibility: Current national officers or directors are not eligible for this award.
  • Full Name: Mr. Peter C Johnson
  • Category: Premier Award
  • AIAA Citation: For exceptional and long time service to the Institute and the Tulsa Section and for continuing efforts in developing the section as an instrument of professional development for engineers