The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

F. E. Newbold V/STOL Award

The F. E. Newbold V/STOL Award is presented to recognize outstanding creative contributions to the advancement and realization of powered lift flight in one or more of the following areas: initiation, definition and/or management of key V/STOL programs; development of enabling technologies including critical methodology; program engineering and design; and/or other relevant related activities or combinations thereof which have advanced the science of powered lift flight. This award is generally presented every 30 months in conjunction with the International Powered Lift Conference. The next award will be presented at the IPLC 2018 in Bristol, England, in November 2018 Nomination Deadline: 1 February 2018
  • Full Name: Harold W Blot
  • AIAA Citation: Under his determined and insightful leadership, the AV-8B Harrier was introduced into the USMC force structure, and the V22 Osprey tilt rotor technology was developed. His technical and managerial skills uniquely advanced VSTOL flight