The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

Wright Brothers Memorial Trophy Award

In 1948, NAA established this award to honor the memory of Orville and Wilbur Wright. The association created the Wright Brothers Memorial Trophy, which has been presented by the President of NAA annually on or near the anniversary of the historic first flight, at the Aero Club of Washington Annual Wright Memorial Dinner. The trophy is awarded annually to a living American for "significant public service of enduring value to aviation in the United States." Nominations are Accepted June 1 - August 31 at <a href=>ww</a>
  • Full Name: Mr. Joseph F Sutter
  • AIAA Citation: In recognition of a career in aviation, spanning more than four decades, during which his technical leadership and management skills were instrumental in the development of three generations of advanced transports which contributed significantly to U.S. preeminence in civil aeronautics.