The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

    CONTACT: John Blacksten

    AIAA Announces New Members of Institute Board of Trustees and Council of Directors

    May 17, 2018 – Reston, Va. – The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is pleased to announce four new at-large members of its Board of Trustees, a new treasurer, and four new members of its Council of Directors. They began their terms on 4 May 2018.

    “I am delighted to welcome these outstanding leaders and look forward to working with them to grow our organization and increase membership in all areas,” AIAA President John Langford said. “Their personal dedication and contributions to engineering will ensure AIAA is the driving force that leads us into the next era of innovation and exploration.”

    These volunteer leaders were elected as part of AIAA’s new governance structure, the transition to which began in May 2017 and will be completed in May 2020. The Council of Directors are elected directly by the membership. The at-large members of the Board of Trustees are elected by the Council of Directors. The treasurer is elected by the members of the Board of Trustees.

    The new members of the Board of Trustees and treasurer are:


    • Mary (Missy) Cummings, Professor in the Duke University Mechanical Engineering and Electrical and Computer Engineering Departments, and the Director of the Humans and Autonomy Laboratory, was elected a Trustee.

    • John Dowdle, who retired this year from Draper Laboratory as Vice President for Engineering, was elected a Trustee.

    • R. Steven Justice, Executive Director of the Georgia Centers of Innovation, was elected a Trustee.

    • David A. Throckmorton, Vice President for Research at the National Institute of Aerospace, was elected a Trustee.

    • Annalisa Weigel, a Director with Fairmont Consulting Group, was elected Treasurer.


    The newly elected members of the Council of Directors are:


    • D. Brett Ridgely, R&D Manager at Raytheon Missile Systems, is the Director of the Aerospace Sciences Group.

    • Carlos Cesnik, Professor of Aerospace Engineering at the University of Michigan, was re-elected as Director of the Aerospace Design & Structures Group.

    • Daniel Jensen, Head of Engineering for Services, Propulsion and Power Systems for Rolls-Royce Corporation, was re-elected as the Director of Region III.

    • Jeffery Puschell, Principal Engineering Fellow, Raytheon Space & Airborne Systems, is the Director of Region VI.


    About AIAA
    The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is the world’s largest aerospace technical society. With nearly 30,000 individual members from 85 countries, and 95 corporate members, AIAA brings together industry, academia, and government to advance engineering and science in aviation, space, and defense. For more information, visit, or follow us on Twitter @AIAA.


    American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
    12700 Sunrise Valley Drive, Suite 200, Reston, VA 20191-5807
    Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551