The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

    Nuclear and Future Flight Propulsion: Advanced Concepts in Rocket Propulsion, Nuclear Systems, Advanced Physics, and High-Energy Density Propellants

    Member Price: $99   $49 USD
    Introductory Non-Member Price: $149 USD $79 USD
    Student Member Price: $9.99 USD

    DirectTech On-Demand – From 2013

    Register Here for Replay


    This Nuclear and Future Flight Propulsion Webinar includes information on many different topics in advanced nuclear space propulsion. A short overview is provided on the wide breadth of advanced propulsion concepts, ranging from advanced chemical propulsion to solar sails, to aerocapture, to fission, fusion, and antimatter. The remaining discussions focused on vehicle system design, construction, and operation for missions throughout the Solar System. These presentations included Radioisotope Thermoelectric Generators (RTGs), Nuclear thermal propulsion, nuclear electric propulsion, nuclear spacecraft options and configurations, and a basic overview of future nuclear power and propulsion systems.


    Learning Objectives

    • Overview of advanced propulsion concepts
    • High energy density propellants
    • Nuclear thermal rocket (historical perspectives)       
    • Nuclear thermal rocket (future applications)
    • Nuclear electric propulsion (systems and missions)


    Who Should Attend

    Professional Engineers and/or Graduate Students with an interest in learning about Advanced Rocket Propulsion.



    Dr. Bryan Palaszewski, NASA Glenn Research Center at Lewis Field

    Dr. Palszewski is the Leader of Advanced Fuels at NASA Glenn, and investigates high energy fuels for aerospace vehicles. He holds a Master of Science Degree in Mechanical Engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and a Bachelor’s Degree in Mechanical Engineering from the City College of New York. He has received the AIAA Sustained Service Award in 2004, and was chair of the AIAA Nuclear and Future Flight Propulsion Technical committee for 3 years beginning in 1997 and was also chair of this committee for the 2nd time from 2008 to 2011.


    Recommended Books