The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

    Detailed Program

    Detailed Program

    COLUMBIA + 10

    FRIDAY, 8 MARCH 2013

    Continental Ballroom, Marvin Center, 3rd Floor
    800 21st Street NW
    Washington, DC

    Event Sponsors

    Boeing Logo   Dynetics Logo   PWR Logo

    Program Agenda


    9:00–9:15 a.m. EST   Welcome and Introductory Remarks
    • SANDY MAGNUS, Executive Director, AIAA
    • W. MICHAEL HAWES, Director, Human Space Flight Operations, Lockheed Martin Space Systems Company


    9:15–10:00 a.m. EST   Keynote
    • VADM JOSEPH DYER, Chair, Aerospace Safety Advisory Panel


    10:00–10:30 a.m. EST   NASA Video
    • The STS-107 Mission


    10:30–11:00 a.m. EST   Coffee Break


    11:00 a.m. –12:00 p.m. EST   Immediate Responses to the Accident
    • SCOTT HOROWITZ, Doc’s Aerospace, former NASA Astronaut
    • DAVID KING, Dynetics, former Director, Marshall Space Flight Center


    12:00–1:00 p.m. EST   Lunch Break


    1:00–2:00 p.m. EST   NASA and the Columbia Accident Investigation Board
    • DOUGLAS COOKE, Cooke Concepts and Solutions, NASA technical advisor to the Columbia Accident Investigation Board (CAIB)
    • JOHN LOGSDON, George Washington University, CAIB Member


    2:00–3:00 p.m. EST   Lessons Learned – Technical
    • KEN BOWERSOX, former NASA Astronaut
    • KENT ROMINGER, ATK, former NASA Astronaut
    • JOHN BARRY, Member, Columbia Accident Investigation Board (invited)


    3:00–3:30 p.m. EST   Coffee Break


    3:30–4:30 p.m. EST   Lessons Learned and Unlearned
    • SCOTT PACE, Director, Space Policy Institute
    • BRYAN O’CONNOR, former Astronaut, former Chief, NASA Safety and Mission Assurance
    • JULIANNE MAHLER, George Mason University
    • WILLIAM PARSON, RD AMROSS, former Space Shuttle Program Manager for Return to Flight


    4:30–5:30 p.m. EST   Summation and Response
    • ADM HAL GEHMAN, Chair, Columbia Accident Investigation Board
    • WAYNE HALE, former Space Shuttle Flight Director and Space Shuttle Program Manager


    5:30–7:00 p.m. EST   Reception and STS-107 Tribute Video


    Register for this Event >

    For more information on this event contact Steve Howell at