The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

    Course Instructor

    Aeroelasticity: State-of-the-Art Practices

    Course Instructors:

    This course is organized and taught by industry leading experts from the AIAA Aeroelasticity Technical Committee.

    Instructors may include:

    Dr. Thomas Strganac is Professor of Aerospace Engineering at Texas A&M University. He serves as the course coordinator for this offering. His interests focus on fluid-structure interaction, structural dynamics, nonlinear mechanics, and aeroelastic phenomena. He is co-author of the textbooks "Introduction to Flight Test Engineering" and "A Modern Course in Aeroelasticity." He has served as the General Chairman of the AIAA SDM Conference and the AIAA Dynamics Specialists Conference. He serves as an Associate Editor of the AIAA Journal of Aircraft. He is a AIAA Associate Fellow and registered Professional Engineer. He received his PhD from Virginia Tech.

    Dr. Carlos E. S. Cesnik is a Professor of Aerospace Engineering at the University of Michigan and Director of the Active Aeroelasticity and Structures Research Laboratory. He earned an Engineering Degree in Aeronautics and M.S. degree from the Instituto Tecnológico de Aeronáutica (ITA), Brazil, and a Ph.D. degree from Georgia Tech. His research interests focused on multifunctional active structures and their interaction with the airflow. Prof. Cesnik is an AIAA Associate Fellow and the AIAA’s Deputy Director for Structures. He was Technical Chair of the SDM, and General and Technical Chair of the Adaptive Structures Conference. Prof. Cesnik is currently associate editor for the AIAA Journal and former associate editor for the Journal of Fluids and Structures.

    Dr. Walter A. Silva is a Senior Research Scientist in the Aeroelasticity Branch at the NASA Langley Research Center. He currently serves as the NASA Technical Lead in Aeroservoelasticity (ASE), Supersonics Program. Dr. Silva has more than 25 years of experience in computational and experimental aeroelasticity, unsteady aerodynamics, and nonlinear dynamics. He is a developer and an expert in Reduced-Order Models. Dr. Silva is an Associate Fellow of the AIAA, and adjunct Professor in Applied Science at the College of William & Mary and in Aerospace Engineering at Old Dominion University.

    Dr. Jennifer Heeg received her B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees from Purdue University, The George Washington University, and Duke University, respectively. In Dr. Heeg’s 25-year career with NASA she worked briefly at NASA Dryden, and, since 1988, has worked in the Aeroservoelasticity and Aeroelasticity Branches at NASA Langley. Dr. Heeg has a broad range of technical interests including experimental aeroelasticity, probabilistic aeroelasticity, and aeroelasticity code validation.

    Dr. Rick Lind is an Associate Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at the University of Florida. He specializes in aeroservoelasticity of flight vehicles. He has been particularly active in developing tools, such as the flutterometer, for flight testing of transport and fighter aircraft. Recently, he has been emphasizing biologically-inspired technologies for design and control of micro air vehicles with flexible wings.

    Dr. Paul G. A. Cizmas is a Professor of Aerospace Engineering at Texas A&M University. Dr. Cizmas specializes in unsteady aerodynamics, computational fluid dynamics, propulsion and aeroelasticity. His research has been supported by AFOSR, AFRL, DoE, the National Academy of Sciences, Northrop Grumman, Westinghouse Electric Company, Siemens Westinghouse Power Corporation, Vestas, Ball Aerospace & Technology Corporation, Siemens, the Turbomachinery Research Consortium, the Tennessee Valley Authority, and the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. He received his PhD from Duke University in Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science. He is an Associate Fellow of the AIAA.

    Dr. Gautam SenGupta is an Associate Technical Fellow of the Boeing Company, specialized in the areas of Aeroelasticity and Aeroacoustics. He completed his Ph.D. at the University of Southampton, England. He is an Associate Fellow of the AIAA and an Affiliate Professor at the University of Washington. He received an "Outstanding Technical Contribution" award of the Pacific Northwest section of the AIAA. He also received three Boeing Inventors' Awards for his contribution to the development of innovative concepts for reducing interior noise in Boeing aircraft. He is a Section Editor for the Journal of Aeroelasticity and Structural Dynamics.

    John Lassiter is a test engineer at Marshall SFC's Test Laboratory. He has over 30 years experience in the areas of experimental and analytical structural dynamics (specializing in passive damping systems and modal testing of ultra lightweight structures), sensors and systems for structural health monitoring, and applications of Integrated Systems Health Management (ISHM). Lassiter has a BSAE from the University of Alabama and a MSAE from the Air Force Institute of Technology. He is an Associate Fellow of the AIAA and a founding member of the Gossamer Systems Program Committee. He retired as a Lieutenant Colonel in the Air Force Reserve; his last assignment being the Air Vehicles Directorate, Structures Division of the Air Force Research Laboratory.