The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics


    Lectureship Awards

    These unique awards not only highlight the accomplishments of particular leaders, but also provide a means for awardees to share their technological insights with other members and with the public at large.  This category of awards is unique in AIAA's honors and awards program, because it not only honors particular individuals, it also provides a means for the awardees to share their technological insights with the AIAA membership and the public at large. These lecturers publicly present the finest thinking and technology in astronautics and aeronautics, and are generally asked to submit a technical paper to accompany the lecture.

    The awards in this category represent the general areas of aerospace research, public service, astronautics, and aeronautics. Unless otherwise indicated, the AIAA Honors and Awards Committee makes the selection of the lecturer and suggests a topic for the lecture, subject to the approval of the Board of Directors. Each awardee receives a distinctive engraved medal, a certificate of citation signed by the AIAA President and the Chair of the Honors and Awards Committee, and a rosette pin symbolizing technical excellence.

    Dryden Lectureship in Research
    The Dryden Lectureship in Research was named in honor of Dr. Hugh L. Dryden in 1967, succeeding the Research Award, established in 1960. The Lecture emphasizes the great importance of basic research to the advancement in aeronautics and astronautics and is a salute to research scientists and engineers. This annual Lecture is generally presented at the AIAA Aerospace Sciences Meeting and Exhibit.
    Nomination Deadline: 1 October

    Durand Lectureship In Public Service
    The Durand Lectureship, named in honor of William F. Durand, was approved by the Board of Directors in 1983. It is presented for notable achievements by a scientific or technical leader whose contributions have led directly to the understanding and application of the science and technology of aeronautics and astronautics for the betterment of mankind. The AIAA Public Policy Committee selects the lecturer and suggests a topic for the lecture, subject to the approval of the Honors and Awards Committee and Board of Directors. The lecture is gemerally presented as the keynote address at the annual Public Policy Luncheon.
    Nomination Deadline: 1 October

    von Kármán Lectureship in Astronautics
    In 1975, the Institute changed the name of the von Kármán Lecture to the von Kármán Lectureship in Astronautics. Honoring Theodore von Kármán, world famous authority on aerospace sciences, the von Kàrmàn Lectureship in Astronautics recognizes an individual who has performed notably and distinguished himself or herself technically in the field of astronautics. This annual Lecture is generally presented at the AIAA Aerospace Sciences Meeting.
    Nomination Deadline: 1 October

    William Littlewood Memorial Lecture
    The William Littlewood Memorial Lecture, jointly sponsored by AIAA and SAE, provides for an annual lecture dealing with a broad phase of civil air transportation considered of current interest and major importance. The objective is to advance air transport engineering and to recognize those who make personal contributions to the field.  The award perpetuates the memory of William Littlewood, the only person ever to be president of both AIAA and SAE. He was renowned for his contributions to the design of, and operational requirements for, civil transport aircraft. Many of his friends requested SAE and AIAA to sponsor a series of lectures to be known as the “William Littlewood Memorial Lecture.”  This annual Lecture is presented by AIAA in even-numbered years at their Aerospace Sciences Meeting and is presented by SAE in odd-numbered years at their AeroTech Congress & Exhibition. The awardee receives a framed certificate. Administration of the award resides with SAE.
    Nomination Deadline: 1 October

    Wright Brothers Lectureship in Aeronautics
    Commemorating the first powered flights made by Orville and Wilbur Wright at Kitty Hawk in 1903, the Wright Brothers Lectureship in Aeronautics emphasizes significant advances in aeronautics by recognizing major leaders and contributors thereto. In prior years the Lectureship was presented annually in conjunction with an appropriate aviation conference, but beginning in 2007, the Lectureship has been presented biennially (in odd-numbered years) at the AIAA Aerospace Sciences Meeting.
    Nomination Deadline: 1 October