The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics


    Foundation Logo   FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE


    AIAA Foundation Presents Eleven Undergraduate Scholarships

    July 12, 2012 – Reston, Va. – The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) and the AIAA Foundation have awarded eleven AIAA Foundation undergraduate scholarships for the 2012–2013 academic year, each in the amount of $2,500.

    The David and Catherine Thompson Space Technology Scholarship, named for and endowed by former AIAA President David Thompson, chairman, chief executive officer, and president of Orbital Sciences Corporation, Dulles, Va., was presented to Alexander Young, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, N.C.

    The Leatrice Gregory Pendray Scholarship, awarded to the Foundation’s top female scholarship applicant, was presented to Emily Boster, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas

    Six AIAA Foundation undergraduate scholarships were presented by AIAA Technical Committees:

    • The Space Transportation Technical Committee presented a scholarship to Matthew Marcus, University of Maryland, College Park, Md.
    • The Digital Avionics Technical Committee presented four scholarships:


    • Ya Yu Hew, University of Texas, Arlington, Texas, received the Cary Spitzer Digital Avionics Scholarship.

    • Amber Kaderbek, University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, Ala., received the Dr. Amy R. Pritchett Digital Avionics Scholarship.
    • James Lewis, Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio, received the Ellis F. Hitt Digital Avionics Scholarship.

    • Christopher Nie, University of Colorado, Boulder, Colo., received the Dr. James Rankin Digital Avionics Scholarship.

    • The Liquid Propulsion Technical Committee presented a scholarship to Byron Patterson, West Virginia University, Morgantown, W.V.

    The AIAA Foundation also presented scholarships to students in the senior, junior, and sophomore year of college:

    • Daniel Libin, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Prescott, Ariz., received the scholarship for seniors.
    • Alexander Anderson, St. Martin’s University, Lacey, Wash., received the scholarship for juniors.
    • Nicholas Spoentgen, Purdue University, West Lafayette, Ind., received the scholarship for sophomores.

     MEDIA CONTACT: Duane Hyland, 703.264.7558 or

    The AIAA Foundation seeks to “make it exciting, make it empowering, and make it fun.” That simple, compelling philosophy drives the Foundation’s commitment to math, science, and technology education. The AIAA Foundation offers a wealth of resources to support educators and students from K–12 through the university level: scholarships, classroom grants, design competitions, and student conferences, improving scientific literacy and advancing the arts and sciences of aerospace. For more information on the AIAA Foundation and its programs for students, teachers, and aerospace professionals, visit


    AIAA is the world’s largest technical society dedicated to the global aerospace profession. With more than 35,000 individual members worldwide, and 90 corporate members, AIAA brings together industry, academia, and government to advance engineering and science in aviation, space, and defense. For more information, visit



    American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
    1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Suite 500, Reston, VA 20191-4344
    Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551