The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics



    AIAA Announces 2013 Fellows and Honorary Fellows
    Official Presentation to Take Place in May at AIAA Aerospace Spotlight Awards Gala

    December 13, 2012 – Reston, Va. – The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is pleased to announce the 2013 AIAA Fellows and Honorary Fellows. Presentation of the new Fellows and Honorary Fellows will take place at the AIAA Aerospace Spotlight Awards Gala, Wednesday, May 8, 2013, at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center, in Washington, D.C.

    The title of Honorary Fellow, the highest distinction conferred by AIAA, is granted to preeminent individuals who have had long and highly contributory careers in aerospace, and who embody the highest possible standards in aeronautics and astronautics. The 2013 AIAA Honorary Fellows are:

      Allen E. Fuhs, Naval Postgraduate School  
      William H Gerstenmaier, NASA Headquarters  
      David Ian Poll, Cranfield University  
      David W. Thompson, Orbital Sciences Corporation  

    The distinction of Fellow is conferred upon those members of the Institute who have made notable and valuable contributions to the arts, sciences, or technology of aeronautics and astronautics. The 2013 AIAA Fellows are:



    Edward H. Allen, Lockheed Martin Aeronautics Company

    Frank H. Bauer, Emergent Space Technologies

    Christina L. Bloemaum, Iowa State University

    Hsiao-Hua K. Burke, Lincoln Laboratory

    Wesley G. Bush, Northrop Grumman Corporation

    Joaquin, H. Castro, Pratt & Whitney Rocketdyne

    Ray. G. Clinton Jr., NASA Marshall Space Flight Center

    Victoria L. Coverstone, University of Illinois
    Frank L. Culbertson, Orbital Sciences Corporation
    Basil Hassan, Sandia National Laboratories

    Stephen D. Heister, Purdue University
    Kathleen C. Howell, Purdue University
    Laurence D. Leavitt, NASA Langley Research Center



    Feng Liu, University of California at Irvine

    Asad M. Madni, BEI Technologies, Inc.

    Dennis A. Muilenburg, Boeing Defense, Space & Security

    Jaime Peraire, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

    Michael W. Plesniak, George Washington University

    Andre J. Preumont, Universite Libre de Bruxelles

    James D. Raisbeck, Raisbeck Engineering, Inc.

    Rami R. Razouk, The Aerospace Corporation

    Gwynne E. Shotwell, Space X

    Friedrich K. Straub, Boeing Defense, Space & Security
    Frank L. Van Rensselaer, VanRSpace

    Aspi R. Wadia, GE Aviation
    Steven H. Walker, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agengy
    Kevin. A Wise, Boeing Defense, Space & Security

    AIAA President Michael Griffin stated: “Being named a Fellow of AIAA is among the highest honors that can be bestowed upon an aerospace professional, and represents recognition from colleagues and peers for significant and longstanding contributions to our community. And beyond that, recognition as an AIAA Honorary Fellow elevates one to the very pinnacle of our profession. This year’s selection committee has done an outstanding job of identifying those who meet these standards. I congratulate each member of this year’s class of Fellows and Honorary Fellows.”

    In 1933, Orville Wright became AIAA’s first Honorary Fellow. Today, AIAA Honorary Fellows and AIAA Fellows are the most respected names in the aerospace industry. For more information about AIAA’s Fellows and Honorary Fellows program, please contact Sonja Moore at or 703.264.7537.


    AIAA is the world’s largest technical society dedicated to the global aerospace profession. With more than 35,000 individual members worldwide, and nearly 100 corporate members, AIAA brings together industry, academia, and government to advance engineering and science in aviation, space, and defense. For more information, visit



    American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
    1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Suite 500, Reston, VA 20191-4344
    Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551