The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics


    Foundation Logo   FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE


    AIAA Foundation Recognizes Outstanding Educators
    Teachers From Six States to Receive Educator Achievement Awards

    December 13, 2012 – Reston, Va. – The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) Foundation has announced the winners of the 2013 AIAA Foundation Educator Achievement Awards. They are:

    • Lanena Berry, Houston Independent School District, Houston, Texas
    • Elizabeth Dabrowski, Magnificat High School, Cleveland, Ohio
    • Lisa Damian-Marvin, Camden Hills Regional High School, Rockport, Maine
    • Joan Labay-Marquez, Curington Elementary School, Boerne, Texas
    • Sean McCullough, Anderson Districts I & II Career and Technology Center, Anderson, S.C
    • Deborah Swan, Windsor Hills Math, Science, Aerospace Magnet School, Los Angeles, Calif.
    • James Weber, Timberland High School, Wentzville, Mo.

    The AIAA Foundation presents the Educator Achievement Awards every two years to classroom teachers who have demonstrated exemplary efforts in exciting students in grades K–12 about the study of mathematics, science, and related technical studies, and in preparing them to use and contribute to tomorrow’s technologies.

    AIAA Executive Director Sandra H. Magnus stated: “The seven educators selected to receive the 2013 AIAA Foundation Educator Achievement Award are a testament to how love of a subject coupled with inspiring teaching helps build the next generation of aerospace engineers and scientists. All it takes is a single spark, lit by an engaging teacher, to ignite the curiosity and interest of a student about the wonder and creativity resident in the world of science and engineering. We need educators at all grade levels to engage students and give them the knowledge and tools to foster their creativity. Without outstanding educators, of which our awardees are an example, such inspiration may never occur. I salute these educators and thank them for their time and talents, and I look forward to welcoming them all to Washington, D.C., in May.”

    Each winner will receive a trip to Washington, D.C., and will be honored at the AIAA Aerospace Spotlight Awards Gala on May 8, 2013.

    The AIAA Foundation Educator Achievement Award has been presented to over 52 educators since 1997, and has become a sought after honor in the education community. For more information on the AIAA Foundation Educator Achievement Award, please contact Lisa Bacon at or 703.264.7527.

    MEDIA CONTACT: Duane Hyland, or 703.264.7558

    The AIAA Foundation seeks to “make it exciting, make it empowering, and make it fun.” That simple, compelling philosophy drives the Foundation’s commitment to math, science, and technology education. The AIAA Foundation offers a wealth of resources to support educators from K–12 through the university level: scholarships, classroom grants, design competitions, and student conferences, improving scientific literacy and advancing the arts and sciences of aerospace. For more information on the AIAA Foundation and its programs for students, teachers, and professionals, please visit



    AIAA is the world’s largest technical society dedicated to the global aerospace profession. With more than 35,000 individual members worldwide, and 90 corporate members, AIAA brings together industry, academia, and government to advance engineering and science in aviation, space, and defense. For more information, visit



    American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
    1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Suite 500, Reston, VA 20191-4344
    Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551