The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics



    AIAA Aerospace Spotlight Awards Gala to Confer Top Honors
    Event Will Also Recognize Newly Elected AIAA Fellows and Honorary Fellows

    January 29, 2013 – Reston, Va. – The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) has announced the 2013 recipients of its most prestigious awards. Presentation of these awards, and the recognition of the newly elected Fellows and Honorary Fellows of the Institute, will take place on May 8 at the AIAA Aerospace Spotlight Awards Gala, at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center, in Washington, D.C. This annual black-tie event recognizes the most influential and inspiring individuals in aerospace, whose outstanding contributions merit the highest accolades.


    The honors to be conferred at the 2013 AIAA Aerospace Spotlight Awards Gala include:

    • AIAA Goddard Astronautics Award: William F. Ballhaus Jr., The Aerospace Corporation
    • AIAA Reed Aeronautics Award: Hon. Paul Kaminski, Technovation Inc.
    • AIAA International Cooperation Award: Scott Pace, Space Policy Institute, Elliott School of International Affairs, George Washington University
    • AIAA Distinguished Service Award: A. Tom Smith, ATS Solutions Inc.
    • AIAA Public Service Award: Neil deGrasse Tyson, Hayden Planetarium, Rose Center for Earth and Space, American Museum of Natural History
    • AIAA Foundation Award of Excellence: NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory’s Mars Science Laboratory, NASA Jet Propuslion Laboratory
    • AIAA Foundation Educator Achievement Awards: Lanena Berry, Houston Independent School District, Houston, Texas; Elizabeth Dabrowski, Magnificat High School, Cleveland, Ohio; Lisa Damian-Marvin, Camden Hills Regional High School, Rockport, Maine; Joan Labay-Marquez, Curington Elementary School, Boerne, Texas; Sean McCullough, Anderson Districts I & II Career and Technology Center, Anderson, S.C.; Deborah Swan, Windsor Hills Math, Science, Aerospace Magnet School, Los Angeles, Calif.; and James Weber, Timberland High School, Wentzville, Mo.
    • AIAA National Capitol Section Barry Goldwater Educator Award: John Grunsfeld, NASA


    The highest distinction conferred by AIAA and its Board of Directors is that of Honorary Fellow, which is granted only to preeminent individuals who have had long and highly contributory careers in aerospace and who embody the highest standards possible in aeronautics and astronautics. The 2013 Honorary Fellows are:

    Allen E. Fuhs, Naval Postgraduate School
    William H. Gerstenmaier, NASA Headquarters
    David Ian Poll, Cranfield University
    David W. Thompson, Orbital Sciences Corporation

    The distinction of Fellow is conferred by AIAA and its Board of Directors upon those members of the Institute who have made notable and valuable contributions to the arts, sciences, or technology of aeronautics or astronautics. The 2013 Fellows are:

    Edward H. Allen, Lockheed Martin Aeronautics
    Frank H. Bauer, Emergent Space Technologies
    Christina L. Bloebaum, Iowa State University
    Hsiao-Hua K. Burke, Lincoln Laboratory
    Wesley G. Bush, Northrop Grumman Corporation
    Joaquin H. Castro, Pratt & Whitney Rocketdyne
    Ray G. Clinton Jr., NASA Marshall Space Flight Center
    Victoria L. Coverstone, University of Illinois
    Frank L. Culbertson, Orbital Sciences Corporation
    Basil Hassan, Sandia National Laboratories
    Stephen D. Heister, Purdue University
    Kathleen C. Howell, Purdue University
    Laurence D. Leavitt, NASA Langley Research Center
    Feng Liu, University of California at Irvine
    Asad M. Madni, BEI Technologies Inc.
    Dennis A. Muilenburg, Boeing Defense, Space & Security
    Jaime Peraire, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    Michael W. Plesniak, George Washington University
    Andre J. Preumont, Universite Libre de Bruxelles
    James D. Raisbeck, Raisbeck Engineering, Inc.
    Rami R. Razouk, The Aerospace Corporation
    Gwynne E. Shotwell, SpaceX
    Friedrich K. Straub, Boeing Defense, Space & Security
    Frank L. Van Rensselaer, VanRSpace
    Aspi R. Wadia, GE Aviation
    Steven H. Walker, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency
    Kevin A. Wise, Boeing Defense, Space & Security

    In 1933, Orville Wright became AIAA’s first Honorary Fellow, and AIAA Honorary Fellows and AIAA Fellows continue to be the most respected names in the aerospace industry.

    For more information on the Aerospace Spotlight Award recipients, Honorary Fellows, or Fellows, please contact Carol Stewart at 703.264.7623 or

    To purchase tables and/or individual seats at the AIAA Aerospace Spotlight Awards Gala, please contact Merrie Scott at 703.264.7530 or


    AIAA is the world’s largest technical society dedicated to the global aerospace profession. With more than 35,000 individual members worldwide, and nearly 100 corporate members, AIAA brings together industry, academia, and government to advance engineering and science in aviation, space, and defense. For more information, visit



    American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
    1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Suite 500, Reston, VA 20191-4344
    Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551