The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics


    Foundation Logo   FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE


    AIAA Foundation Presents Graduate Awards
    Five Graduate Students Receive a Total of $22,500 in Scholarships for 2013–2014 Academic Year

    June 19, 2013 – Reston, Va. – The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) and the AIAA Foundation are pleased to announce the recipients of the AIAA Foundation’s five Graduate Awards for the 2013–2014 academic year.

    Each year the AIAA Foundation presents Orville and Wilbur Wright Graduate Awards. These $5,000 awards, given in memory of the Wright brothers’ contributions to the evolution of flight, are presented to students pursuing master’s degrees or doctoral thesis work. The 2013–2014 winners are:

    • Daniel Cuppoletti, University of Cincinnati, Ohio.

    • Luis Zea, University of Colorado at Boulder, Colo.

    The AIAA Foundation also annually presents a series of $2,500 awards. The 2013–2014 winners are:

    • Phillip Ansell, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, Ill., who received the William T. Piper General Aviation Systems Graduate Award. The William T. Piper Award, sponsored by endowments from the Piper Aircraft Corporation and the W.T. Piper, Sr. Foundation, combined with support from the AIAA General Aviation Systems Technical Committee, is presented to a student actively participating in research endeavors in General Aviation as part of their graduate studies.

    • Aude Marzuoli, George Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Ga., who received the Guidance, Navigation and Control Graduate Award. The AIAA Guidance, Navigation, and Control Technical Committee presents this award to a student engaged in work relating to the committee’s subject area.

    • Wendy Okolo, the University of Texas at Arlington, Texas, who is the recipient of the John Leland Atwood Graduate Award. The Leland Award, sponsored by endowments from Rockwell and Boeing North America, Inc., and named in memory of John Leland “Lee” Atwood, former chief executive officer of Rockwell, North American, is presented to a student actively engaged in research in the areas covered by the technical committees of AIAA.

    For more information on the AIAA Graduate Award program, please contact Stephen Brock at 703.264.7536 or

    MEDIA CONTACT: DUANE HYLAND, 703.264.7558,

    The AIAA Foundation seeks to “make it exciting, make it empowering, and make it fun.” That simple, compelling philosophy drives the Foundation’s commitment to math, science, and technology education. The AIAA Foundation offers a wealth of resources to support educators from K–12 through the university level: scholarships, classroom grants, design competitions, and student conferences, improving scientific literacy and advancing the arts and sciences of aerospace. For more information on the AIAA Foundation and its programs for students, teachers, and professionals, please visit



    AIAA is the world’s largest technical society dedicated to the global aerospace profession. With more than 35,000 individual members worldwide, and 100 corporate members, AIAA brings together industry, academia, and government to advance engineering and science in aviation, space, and defense. For more information, visit



    American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
    1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Suite 500, Reston, VA 20191-4344
    Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551