The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics



    AIAA Announces 2014 Fellows and Honorary Fellows
    Official Presentation Takes Place in April at the AIAA Aerospace Spotlight Awards Gala

    November 19, 2013 – Reston, Va. – The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is pleased to announce the 2014 AIAA Fellows and Honorary Fellows. Presentation of the new Fellows and Honorary Fellows will take place at the AIAA Aerospace Spotlight Awards Gala, Wednesday, April 30, 2014, at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center, in Washington D.C.

    The title of Honorary Fellow, the highest distinction conferred by AIAA, is granted to preeminent individuals who have long and highly contributory careers in aerospace, and who embody the highest possible standards in aeronautics and astronautics. The 2014 Honorary Fellows are:

      Edward Greitzer, Massachusetts Institute of Technology  
      Paul Kaminski,Technovation, Inc., Hughes Research Labs, Exostar, General Dynamics  
      George Muellner, U.S. Air Force, Boeing Defense Systems, University of Illinois  

    The distinction of Fellow is conferred upon those members of the Institute who have made notable and valuable contributions to the arts, sciences, or technology of aeronautics or astronautics. The 2014 AIAA Fellows are:



    Joao Luiz Azevedo, Instituto de Aeronáutica e Espaço

    Neal Barlow, U.S. Air Force Academy

    Steven Battel, Battel Engineering

    John Blanton, GE Power & Water

    John Brophy, Jet Propulsion Laboratory

    Tom Crouch, Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum

    Michael Delaney, The Boeing Company

    Eugene Dionne, Lockheed Martin Corporation

    Song Fu, Tsinghua University

    John Kim, University of California Los Angeles

    David King, Dynetics, Inc.



    Roger Krone, The Boeing Company

    Dimitris Lagoudas, Texas A&M University

    Deborah Levin, Pennsylvania State University

    Meng-Sing Liou, NASA Glenn Research Center

    Robert Lucht, Purdue University

    Jeffery Puschell, Raytheon Space & Airborne Systems

    David Riley, The Boeing Company

    Zamik Rosenwaks, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev

    Daniel Scheeres, University of Colorado Boulder

    Bob Schutz, University of Texas at Austin

    Sergey Surzhikov, Russian Academy of Sciences – Institute for Problems in Mechanics

    James Voss, University of Colorado Boulder

    Richard Wahls, NASA Langley Research Center

    Andres Zellweger, Aerospace Consultant 

    “The title of AIAA Fellow is among the highest honors that one can earn in the aerospace community. It represents the acknowledgement of peers that one’s work is truly outstanding, and that you have made lasting contributions to significantly advancing the state-of-the art of aerospace science and technology,” said AIAA President Mike Griffin. “Beyond that, the title of Honorary Fellow honors those whose work and contributions have placed each at the pinnacle of our profession. This year’s selection committee has done an outstanding job of identifying those who meet these standards. I congratulate each member of this year’s class of Fellows and Honorary Fellows.”

    In 1933, Orville Wright became AIAA’s first Honorary Fellow. Today, AIAA Honorary Fellows and AIAA Fellows are the most respected names in the aerospace industry. For more information about AIAA’s Fellows and Honorary Fellows program, please contact Patricia A. Carr at or 703.264.7523.


    AIAA is the largest aerospace professional society in the world, serving a diverse range of more than 35,000 individual members from 80 countries, and 100 corporate members. AIAA members help make the world safer, more connected, more accessible, and more prosperous. For more information, visit, or follow us on Twitter @AIAA.



    American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
    1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Suite 500, Reston, VA 20191-4344
    Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551