The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

    Awards Presented at AIAA Science and Technology Forum and Exposition

    Awards Recognize Technical Achievements and Literary Excellence

    AIAA recognized technical achievements and literary excellence during the AIAA Science and Technology Forum and Exposition (SciTech 2014), which took place 13 – 17 January 2014, at the Gaylord National Hotel and Convention Center, in National Harbor, Md. The following individuals received awards for technical achievements in aerospace sciences or for literary excellence at a noon awards luncheon on January 14:

    • Bernard Etkin, university professor, emeritus, University of Toronto, Ontario, Canada, received the AIAA Aerospace Guidance, Navigation, and Control Award. Etkin was honored for his “outstanding achievement in and dedication to research and education in the field of guidance, navigation and control for over half a century.”

    • Heinz Erzberger, senior scientist, aviation systems division, NASA Ames Research Center, Moffett Field, Calif., received the AIAA Intelligent Systems Award. Erzberger was honored for his “pioneering research in developing intelligent systems that increase the efficiency and safety of aircraft and air traffic control operations.”

    • Maruthi R. Akella, associate professor, Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics, University of Texas at Austin, Texas, received the AIAA Mechanics and Control of Flight Award. Akella was honored for his “far-reaching theoretical and practical advances in aircraft/spacecraft guidance, navigation and control, particularly nuclear attitude estimation and control.”

    • Mark D. Maughmer, professor/educator, The Pennsylvania State University, University Park, Penn., received the ASEE/AIAA J. Leland Atwood Award. Maughmer was honored for “weaving a unique tapestry of real-world engineering and engineering education.”

    • William Clancey, NASA Ames Research Center, Moffett Field, Calif., and the Florida Institute for Human and Machine Cognition, Pensacola, Fla., received the AIAA Gardner-Lasser Aerospace History Literature Award. Clancey was honored for his book “Working on Mars: Voyages of Scientific Discovery with the Mars Exploration Rovers.”

    • Lawrence Benson, chief, Air Force Historian’s Pentagon Office (retired), Albuquerque, N.M., eceived the AIAA History Manuscript Award. Benson is being honored for his manuscript “Quieting the Boom: The Shaped Sonic Boom Demonstrator and the Quest for Quiet Supersonic Flight.”

    • Wassim Haddad, professor, aerospace engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Ga., received the AIAA Pendray Aerospace Literature Award. Haddad was honored for his “paramount and fundamental contributions to the literature of dynamical systems and control for large-scale aerospace systems.”

    The following individuals received awards for technical achievements in aerospace design and structures at a noon awards luncheon on 16 January:

    • Michael Benjamin, senior engineer, GE Aviation, Cincinnati, Ohio, received the AIAA Aerospace Design Award. Benjamin was honored for his “leadership in the design of advanced fuel nozzles and combustors for the next generation of GE aircraft engines including the LEAP and GEnX.”

    • John M. Vice, president, Skyward, Ltd., Hendersonville, N.C., received the AIAA Survivability Award. Vice was honored for his “leadership and technical contributions instrumental in enhancing aircraft survivability through test and evaluation, combat data collection, and aircraft battle damage assessment and repair.”

    • Daniel Inman, “Kelly” Johnson Professor and Chair, Department of Aerospace Engineering, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan, received the AIAA Structures, Structural Dynamics and Materials Award. Inman was honored for his “outstanding contributions and innovative integration of smart materials into both air and space vehicles ranging from flexible satellites to morphing aircraft structures.”

    • Kimberley Clayfied, executive manager, space sciences and technology, Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO), Canberra, ACT, Australia, will receive the AIAA Lawrence Sperry Award Award in December at a special ceremony hosted by the AIAA Sydney Section in Sydney, Australia. Clayfield was honored for her “significant and sustained contributions to the development of the Australian aerospace sector through national public policy, scientific leadership, and education activities.”

    For more information on the AIAA Honors and Awards program, please contact Carol Stewart at or 703.264.7623. For more information on the AIAA SciTech Forum and Exposition, please contact Duane Hyland at or 703.264.7558. Registration is complimentary for credentialed members of the press.