The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics



    AIAA Congratulates Members Elected to National Academy of Engineering

    February 7, 2014 – Reston, Va. – The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) congratulates seven of its members who have been elected as members, or as a foreign associate, of the National Academy of Engineering. The AIAA members are:

    • Robert D. Braun, David and Andrew Lewis Professor of Space Technology, and co-director, Space Systems Design Laboratory, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta. For contributions to space exploration and technologies for entering planetary atmosphere from space.

    • Robert D. Briskman, co-founder and technical executive, Sirius XM Radio, North Bethesda, Md. For achievements in satellite communication, culminating in Sirius XM Radio.

    • Lt. Gen. Ellen M. Pawlikowski, commander, Space and Missile Systems Center, and program executive officer for space, U.S. Air Force, Los Angeles Air Force Base, Los Angeles. For leadership in the development of technologies for national security programs including spacecraft operations and the Airborne Laser.

    • James J. Riley, PACCAR Professor of Engineering, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Washington, Seattle. For contributions in analysis, modeling and computations of transitioning and turbulent phenomena.

    • Bob E. Schutz, Joe I. King Chair in Engineering and FSX Professorship in Space Applications and Exploration, University of Texas – Austin. For contribution to the use of Satellite Laser Ranging and Global Positioning System tracking to study earth system dynamics.

    • Ian A. Waitz, dean of engineering, and Jerome C. Hunsaker Professor Aeronautics and Astronautics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Mass. For analysis of environmental effects of aviation enabling practical environmental regulations.

    The AIAA member elected to be a foreign associate of the NEA is:

    • Alon Gany,professor emeritus, Technion – Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa, Israel. For advances in the development of solid propellants for rockets and scramjets.

    “AIAA extends our sincerest congratulations to our seven members who have been elected to the NAE. Their election recognizes their commitment to excellence and celebrates their numerous accomplishments and advancements in their fields of endeavor,” said AIAA President Mike Griffin. “All together, the contributions of these seven individuals have enriched our world.”

    Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to “engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature,” and to the “pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.”



    AIAA is the largest aerospace professional society in the world, serving a diverse range of more than 35,000 individual members from 80 countries, and 100 corporate members. AIAA members help make the world safer, more connected, more accessible, and more prosperous. For more information, visit, or follow us on Twitter @AIAA.



    American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
    1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Suite 500, Reston, VA 20191-4344
    Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551