The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics



    Dr. Ben T. Zinn to Receive AIAA 2014 Reed Aeronautics Award
    Honored for Extensive and Fundamental Contributions to Aerospace Propulsion and Power Technologies

    April 17, 2014 – Reston, Va. – Ben T. Zinn, AIAA Fellow, and David S. Lewis, Jr., chair, and regents professor, School of Aerospace Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology (Georgia Tech), Atlanta, Ga., has won the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics’(AIAA) 2014 Reed Aeronautics Award. Zinn will receive the award on April 30, during the AIAA Aerospace Spotlight Awards Gala at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center, in Washington, D.C.

    The Reed Aeronautics Award is the highest honor an individual can receive for notable achievement in aeronautics. The award is named after Dr. Sylvanus A. Reed, aeronautical engineer, designer, and founding member of the Institute of Aeronautical Sciences in 1932. Reed was the first to develop a propeller system composed of metal rather than wood.

    Zinn is being honored with this award for his “extensive and fundamental contributions to aerospace propulsion and power technologies, research, education, literature, and workforce development.”

    Zinn began his tenure at Georgia Tech in 1965. His research has focused on fundamental and practical aspects of combustion including: combustion instabilities in rockets, ramjets, afterburners and jet engines, fire safety, active control of combustion processes, low emissions combustion processes, “smart combustors” and acoustics. Zinn has also served as the principal investigator on the Department of Defense’s Multi-University Research Initiative program on “Intelligent Turbine Engines” and NASA’s University Research Engineering Technology Initiative on “Aero propulsion and Power.” Zinn is also largely responsible for creating one of the nation’s most outstanding combustion research programs. Housed in the Ben T. Zinn Combustion Laboratory at Georgia Tech, the program involves more than 100 undergraduate and graduate students and seven professors – all engaged in groundbreaking combustion research.

    Zinn’s other honors include the 2003 AIAA Air Breathing Propulsion Award; the 2000 AIAA Pendray Aerospace Literature Award; the 1996 AIAA Propellants and Combustion Award; the 2006 American Society of Mechanical Engineers Westinghouse Gold Medal; and the 2002 Combustion Institute’s Alfred C. Egerton Gold Medal.

    For more information about the Reed Aeronautics Award, or the AIAA Honors and Awards program, please contact Carol Stewart at 703.264.7623 or



    AIAA is the largest aerospace professional society in the world, serving a diverse range of more than 35,000 individual members from 80 countries, and 100 corporate members. AIAA members help make the world safer, more connected, more accessible, and more prosperous. For more information, visit, or follow us on Twitter @AIAA.



    American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
    1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Suite 500, Reston, VA 20191-4344
    Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551