The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics



    Awards to be Presented at AIAA Science and Technology Forum and Exposition
    Awards Recognize Achievements in Aerospace Sciences and Information Systems

    December 4, 2014 – Reston, Va. – The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) will recognize technical achievements in aerospace sciences and information systems at a 12:30 pm (EST) recognition luncheon on January 6, as part of the AIAA Science and Technology Forum and Exposition (AIAA SciTech 2015), January 5–9, at the Gaylord Palms Hotel and Convention Center in Kissimmee, Florida.

    The awardees are:

    • Karen Gundy-Burlet, flight software lead, Lunar Atmosphere and Dust Environment Explorer mission, NASA Ames Research Center, Moffett Field, California, will receive the AIAA Aerospace Software Engineering Award. Gundy-Burlet is being honored for “over thirty years of significant research and innovations in the software engineering simulations of computational fluid dynamics and efficient spacecraft flight control software.”

    • Cleve Moler chief mathematician, chairman and co-founder, MathWorks, Natick, Massachusetts, will receive the AIAA de Florez Award for Flight Simulation. Moler is being honored for his “significant impact to the science of flight simulation through development of computational algorithms underlying an environment now used widely to create multi-domain models and operational software.”

    • Joseph Majdalani chair, Department of Aerospace Engineering, Auburn University, Auburn, Alabama, will receive the AIAA Faculty Advisory Award. Majdalani is being honored for his “unwavering devotion to student success in the AIAA southeast region yielding eight regional and two national AIAA awards, with eight out of eight best papers within five years.”

    • John Valasek professor, aerospace engineering, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas, will receive the ASEE/AIAA J. Leland Atwood AwardValasek is being honored for his “outstanding contributions to the aerospace profession and deep commitment to the education and professional development of aerospace engineering students.”

    • Jeremy Pinier LaRC SLS lead for Aeroscience, NASA Langley Research Center’s Configuration Aerodynamics Branch, Hampton, Virginia, will receive the AIAA Lawrence Sperry Award. Pinier is being honored for his “significant technical accomplishments and leadership in the aerodynamics design and development of the next U.S. crew and heavy-lift launch vehicles.”

    • David Klydevice president of research and engineering services, Systems Technology, Inc., Hawthorne, California, will receive an AIAA Sustained Service Award for “nearly two decades of service to AIAA including technical committee leadership, distinguished lecturer, journal associate editor, and corporate member advisory committee.”

    In addition to those awards, technical paper authors will receive a Certificate of Merit recognizing outstanding technical and scientific excellence.

    For more information on these awards, or on the AIAA Honors and Awards program, please contact Carol Stewart at or 703.264.7623. For more information on the AIAA Science and Technology Forum and Exposition, please contact Duane Hyland at duaneh@aiaa.orgor 703.264.7558. Registration is complimentary for credentialed members of the press.



    About AIAA
    AIAA is the largest aerospace professional society in the world, serving a diverse range of more than 35,000 individual members from 80 countries, and 100 corporate members. AIAA members help make the world safer, more connected, more accessible, and more prosperous. For more information, visit, or follow us on Twitter @AIAA.



    American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
    1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Suite 500, Reston, VA 20191-4344
    Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551