The World's Forum for Aerospace Leadership

  • Donate
  • Press Room
  • Renew
  • View Cart
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

    CONTACT: John Blacksten


    AIAA Announces the Class of 2015 Fellows and Honorary Fellows
    Four Honorary Fellows and 22 Fellows Selected

    January 16, 2015 – Reston, Va. – The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) has selected its 2015 Class of AIAA Fellows and Honorary Fellows. The induction ceremony for the new Fellows and Honorary Fellows will take place at the AIAA Aerospace Spotlight Awards Gala on 6 May 2015 at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center in Washington, D.C.

    Honorary Fellow is the highest distinction conferred by AIAA, and recognizes preeminent individuals who have had long and highly contributory careers in aerospace and who embody the highest possible standards in aeronautics and astronautics. The 2015 Honorary Fellows are:

    Frederik J. Abbink, The National Aerospace Laboratory of the Netherlands

    Kyle T. Alfriend, Texas A&M University

    Wanda M. Austin, The Aerospace Corporation

    Ben T. Zinn, Georgia Institute of Technology

    “The titles of AIAA Fellow and Honorary Fellow are among the most prestigious honors in the aerospace profession,” said AIAA President Jim Albaugh. “Each title is a mark of excellence and distinction, and recognizes extraordinary contributions to aerospace. AIAA congratulates the members of the 2015 Class of Fellows and Honorary Fellows on their selection.”


    AIAA confers the distinction of Fellow upon individuals in recognition of their notable and valuable contributions to the arts, sciences or technology of aeronautics and astronautics. The 2015 Fellows are:


    Allen Arrington, Jr., Sierra Lobo Inc.

    Thomas Beutner, Office of Naval Research

    Lawrence Brase, The Boeing Company

    John Crassidis, University at Buffalo, State University of New York

    David Eames, Rolls-Royce Corporation

    Eric Evans, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Lincoln Laboratory

    Debra Facktor Lepore,  Ball Aerospace & Technologies Corporation

    Alison Flatau, University of Maryland

    Michimasa Fujino, Honda Aircraft Company

    Wayne Goodman, The Aerospace Corporation


      Jayanth Kudva, NextGen Aeronautics Inc.

    Timothy Lieuwen, Georgia Institute of Technology

    E. Glenn Lightsey, University of Texas at Austin

    Eli Livne, University of Washington

    James Maser, James G. Advisors LLC

    Paul McManamon, Exciting Technology LLC

    David W. Miller, Massachusetts Institute of Technology/NASA

    Alton Romig, Jr., Lockheed Martin Corporation

    Robert H. Smith, Honeywell International Inc.

    Ashok Srivastava, Verizon Corporation

    James Walker, Southwest Research Institute

    Zhi Jian Wang, University of Kansas

    “This year, as in every year, each of the nominees for AIAA Fellow stands at the top of our aerospace community in terms of their contributions to our profession, and that makes our selection process a particularly difficult one,” said George Muellner, chair of the AIAA Fellows Selection Committee. “In the end, we picked 22 individuals whose work has been truly outstanding. We congratulate our Class of 2015 AIAA Fellows and we look forward to their continued roles in shaping the future of aerospace.”

    In 1933, Orville Wright became AIAA’s first Honorary Fellow. Today, AIAA Honorary Fellows and AIAA Fellows are the most respected names in the aerospace industry.

    For more information on AIAA’s Honors Program, or the AIAA Honorary Fellows or Fellows Program, please contact Patricia A. Carr at 703.264.7523 or at

    About AIAA
    AIAA is the largest aerospace professional society in the world, serving a diverse range of more than 30,000 individual members from 88 countries, and 95 corporate members. AIAA members help make the world safer, more connected, more accessible, and more prosperous. For more information, visit, or follow us on Twitter @AIAA.



    American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
    1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Suite 500, Reston, VA 20191-4344
    Phone: 703.264.7558 Fax: 703.264.7551